IfM announce winners of University's first Postdoctoral Awards

Winners of IfM Postdoctoral Awards (L-to-R): Thomas Bohné, Katharina Greve, Niamh Fox, Curie Park, Lili Jia, Daniel Summerbell

The IfM were proud to run a pilot scheme for Postdoctoral Awards - the first place in the University to take forward such a scheme.


Nominations were gathered from across the IfM in three categories; Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Research and Excellence in Academic Citizenship.


The winners of the 2019 IfM Postdoctoral Awards were:


For Excellence in Teaching
Dr Daniel Summerbell

For Excellence in Research
(joint winners)
Dr Thomas Bohné
Dr Lili Jia

For Excellence in Academic Citizenship

(joint winners)
Dr Niamh Fox
Dr Katharina Greve
Dr Curie Park


The winners were announced by Head of the IfM, Prof Tim Minshall, at a ceremony held in the IfM Common Room on 18 October. The awards scheme was a great success and something the IfM will be running again in 2020. 


IfM postdoctoral representatives will report back about the scheme to the University Postdoc Chairs’ Network (PCN). This network will share details of the scheme with other postdoctoral committees in the hope that such schemes will now be taken forward in other departments.

Date published

18 October 2019

Share This