Exceptional teaching at IfM

Dr James Moultrie has been awarded one of the University of Cambridge's Pilkington Prizes - awarded to individuals who have shown teaching of exceptional quality. Senior Lecturer in Design Management at IfM, Dr Moultrie is one of just 12 individuals from across the University to receive the award.




He was recognised for his transformational work in providing MET students with the management competence, business acumen and interpersonal and organisational skills they need to become world-class leaders.


Dr Moultrie leads the IfM’s Manufacturing Design Show where MET students complete a major design project to develop a new product, with real business potential, and then present their product to an invited audience of local industrialists and


The Design Show involves the students developing displays to explain the technical and business ideas behind their products, together with design details and prototype models of the products themselves. The projects have generated some exciting new ideas and innovative technology, some of which have gone on to be commercialised.


The Pilkington prizes reveal the diversity of teaching at Cambridge but certain themes emerge, in particular a focus on the individual student, the value of research-led teaching, the continuing importance of one-to-one teaching, innovation in teaching practice, interdisciplinary approaches, and above all, dedication to students.


The Pilkington Prizes were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington – graduate of Trinity College, engineer, businessman and the first Chairman of the Cambridge Foundation – who passionately believed that teaching excellence was crucial to Cambridge’s future success.


The Pilkington Prizes are organised by The Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning, which supports staff by providing training, developing networks, hosting events and encouraging and funding innovation. The Centre also provides a focus for strategic priorities within Cambridge and for engaging with national and international developments in higher education.


This is the third time that IfM teaching staff have been recognised with a Pilkington Teaching Prize. The award has previously been won by Dr Claire Barlow (1997) and Dr Tim Minshall (2012)


Read more about the 2017 Pilkington Prize winners here.